Playing with Monsters (Playing With Monsters #1) by Amelia Hutchins

*Trigger Warning* 

I can see why this  book is highly rated, and get why some didn’t like it. I’m stuck in between. This seems to be happening to me a lot, it really makes me want to come up with my own rating system.

So let’s start with why this book was really good. The writing, while it was too descriptive, it was addictive, like I had to know what would happen next. I may have skimmed the color of the curtains.

The sex, yes this is always part of my review, because well

17 slut

Anyway, Amelia can write a damn steamy scene.

The book is unique and we see definite character growth….

The reasons above are why I could easily rate this book 5 stars.

Now why I could rate it 2 stars with no qualms.

Lena, she’s hard to describe.

no-words

I see Lena walking and getting hit by rocket ships to the face, and she ignores them. Like she has so much information at her disposal, and  yet ignores all of it. Like pull up your pants, and pay attention to what the hell is going on around you.

The ending was a cliffhanger, which honestly I don’t mind, but this one bothered me.

11 need some more

Nothing was resolved, nothing was wrapped up, the reader is left with so many questions.

Not the good  questions  like “I’m so mindfucked”, more like the author didn’t finish the book.

3risbcx

Ordinarily, a cliffhanger would solve the problem in the first book, which would be Katrina, and then at the end, a new problem arose.

I’m not an author, but the way this was done, just makes is seem like it’s incomplete.

So while I can give this book 5 stars for smut, I can’t give it stars for quality.

So in end, I just wanted  Lena to look into her nightmares, ask questions, do research.

I wanted Ben’s role explained.

Lastly, Lucien should have explained what was going on, I mean come on?  He’s saving the world, I’m sure Lena would understand.

tumblr_inline_mkiwg9zd5t1qz4rgp

I probably won’t read the next book.

Leave a Reply

